Register now for the 2019 Bartender of the Year sponsored by BACARDÍ & De Kuyper

Australia’s toughest test of bartending ability is back again in 2019 — do you have what it takes to make the Top 8?

This is the toughest test of bartending ability out there. You don’t need to social media anything. You don’t have to make a video to promote your drinks. It’s just you and the hardest bartending exam going around. Do you think you have what it takes?

The Prize
Taking place over two days during Sydney Bar Week, the Bartender of the Year sponsored by BACARDÍ and De Kuyper has got a great prize in store for this year’s champion. Not only will you score national bragging rights as the top bartender in the country, you’ll also go on a bartending trip to remember to visit Tales of the Cocktail in New Orleans (or pick up $3,000 cash — the choice is yours) and receive a wildcard entry into the semi-final round of the next instalment of BACARDÍ Legacy.

Here’s what you need to do to enter:

• You must register your entry online by filling out the form below before May 31, 2019.

• Check your email address regularly for tips and details of each round of the competition — and hit the books. We’ll test your knowledge of all spirit categories, your mastery of classic cocktails, and how well you know the craft of tending bar.

• Sit the exam in Sydney on Monday 16 September during Sydney Bar Week.

Anyone working in a bar can enter to take a crack at the biggest crown of them all. If you’ve got any questions, email competition organiser Sam Bygrave on — and register online before May 31.


The winner of the competition this year will join the most exclusive bartending club in town — take a look at the previous winners below.

The Bartenders of the Year roll call

  • 2018 – Jenna Hemsworth
  • 2017 – Daniel Gregory
  • 2016 – Michael Chiem
  • 2015 – Lee Potter Cavanagh
  • 2014 – Nathan Beasley
  • 2013 – Sean Chow
  • 2012 – Greg Sanderson
  • 2011 – Tim Philips
  • 2010 – Jason Williams
  • 2009 – Chris Hysted
  • 2008 – Sebastian Reaburn
  • 2007 – Charlie Ainsbury
  • 2006 – Oliver Stuart
  • 2005 – Ben Davidson
  • 2004 – George Nemec
  • 2003 – Marco Faraone
  • 2002 – Marco Faraone
  • 2001 – Marco Faraone